Mayor & City Council

Lakeway City Council 2023

The City Council is the “governing body of the city.” It is made up of seven members (mayor and six councilmembers). The City Charter requires that all councilmembers be volunteers. All councilmembers are elected “at large.” The mayor represents the city at ceremonies and events. The mayor does not have a supermajority vote nor can the mayor veto council actions. The mayor does set the agenda for council meetings and also acts as the city’s spokesperson when needed.

  • All office holders for city elective office shall meet the requirements for public office prescribed by state and federal law, as well as the City Charter of the City of Lakeway. They must be registered voters, residing in the city for at least one year prior to the election and be at least 21 years of age by the date of the election. Members of the council shall serve without pay or compensation.


  • First Monday of each month at 6:30 p.m. (as needed)
  • Third Monday of each month at 6:30 p.m.
  • Lakeway City Hall council chambers
    1102 Lohmans Crossing Road
    Lakeway, Texas 78734
* Effective January 1, 2023: City Council meetings will be held at 6:30 p.m.

Agendas & Minutes

Currently posted agendas as well as past agendas, minutes, and council meeting audio recordings may be found in the Archive Center.

Lakeway City Council

Thomas KilgoreMayorMay 2021 - May
Louis MastrangeloMayor Pro TemNov 2018 - May 2024
Gretchen VanceCouncilmember
May 2019 - May
Kelly Brynteson
May 2022 - May 2024
Jennifer Szimanski
May 2022 - May 2024
Christopher FortonCouncilmemberMay 2023 - May
Kent O'BrienCouncilmemberMay 2023 - May